It is frightening how fast things can change and how we are, or should be, accountable for adapting to this change in such a timely manner. Things don’t stop, but continue to evolve and mutate into something that wasn’t intended or maybe even desired.

This past month has been filled with new, exciting and sometimes difficult experiences. The absolute best thing to happen to me occurred last Thursday with the birth of my nephew, Joseph Emerson.

Image

4 days old and he already has the coolest hair.

Going through the past couple of days with a new nephew, new semester, and new changes at my internship…I have never felt more tired in my life. It requires a revisit to how you lead everyday, how you deal with the changes and being okay with not dealing with them the right way the first time.  Another point that I began thinking about was taking advantage of new beginnings. From the outside it seems extremely overwhelming to have so much to adapt to in such little time. I don’t want to get left behind or miss out, but I find it hard to keep up with school, work, internship, being an aunt, etc. But, then I try to stand back and apply some perspective.

There is this documentary, Born into Brothels, that chronicles children in Calcutta, India’s notorious red light district who were given cameras to photograph their surroundings. Most of the children’s parents are prostitutes and the children are left to, not only fend for but survive by themselves.  Their new beginning started with a camera. Leaving the red light district in any capacity was an unimaginable thought to these children. There were no opportunities. Some children are now studying photography at a university.  The story is just very inspiring to me and I constantly refer back to it when I feel beaten down or bombarded with so many new things. I have to recognize the power new beginnings can have and respond in a way that takes advantage of the potential opportunities at hand. Again, the documentary is fantastic and you should definitely read more into all the various issues that children face everyday in the red light district.  This article is uplifting in that it focuses on child-welfare programs that are combating these issues through education and making drastic strides in keeping kids off the street and in school.

Lookie lookie! Watch the trailer and become instantly inspired!…I promise, you will be.

http://http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5ehz3doE56A

